top of page

New Habits


Katalin & Emily

Since I started living in London I have had to get used to some strange things. In my country, Hungary, I seldom travelled by bus because I was dizzy on buses but now I’m used to taking buses every day. In Hungary people don’t have to wave at buses if they would like to get on so I also had to get used to waving at buses. At first this action was odd for me. Once I was alone at the bus stop and I forgot to put my arm out and of course it didn’t stop! I was annoyed because I was late. It was a good lesson for me and since then I always wave at them!

I’m a live-in au pair. My host family eats loads of vegetable which is very healthy. I like vegetables and fruit but sometimes I need to eat some meat, too. However, they do buy cold cuts like salami and sausages once in a while. In the first two months I missed these things but now I’m getting used to eating less meat.

The most difficult thing for me was that cars drive on the left-hand side. In the beginning I was stressed about this because of my host kids. Every morning we walk to our bus stop and have to cross a few roads. Fortunately I’m now used traffic on the left-hand side.

bottom of page