top of page

Different Cultures in London


My son goes to Scouts every Monday.They have got a global challenge plan this month. As part of the plan,they made Chinese style Spring rolls tonight. As you know, last Saturday was Chinese New Year.The leader of the Scouts wanted to introduce Chinese culture to the kids. I helped them making spring rolls and my son taught the kids how to use chopsticks. We enjoyed it.

It's the first time that I've had Chinese New Year here in London. I felt it looks more festive here than in Japan. Of course in China Town, they have many special events to celebrate the day like those in central London, but there are hardly any events in ordinary schools. In the schools in the UK, children can experience many different cultures in their daily life, that is very good for children. It's a good experience for my son as well. He is lucky!

bottom of page