top of page

Chinese New Year

Last Saturday was the Chinese New Year. For Chinese people, this is the year of the rooster. On this day it is the custom to wear new clothes that are red in colour. I put on makeup, wore an embroidered traditional Chinese dress, and new shoes. I went to Leeds to meet with my good friend’s daughter.

I reached Leeds, and went to a Chinese restaurant with my friends’ daughter. On New Year’s Day we eat a lot of food. After eating I gave her a red envelope. It is tradition to give money in a red envelope to family members who don’t work or youngsters who are studying. Money brings them luck.

We wished each other Happy New Year.

The most important food on this day is dumplings. They were delicious. We finished our food and went shopping. I bought her two dresses and two for me too. They were on sale. We were very happy.

Later, we went to a cafe and had coffee and cakes. Time flew by. We went to a Thai restaurant for dinner. My friends’ daughter likes sea food. We drank red wine and beer. I spoke a lot after drinking wine! We both laughed and we told each other jokes.

I had a very pleasant evening. I was very happy because this was my first pleasant Chinese New Year in England. [if !supportLineBreakNewLine] [endif] [endif]

bottom of page