top of page

Differences between England and Slovakia


One of the biggest differences within my country is related to earnings. In the east you earn three times less money than in the west for doing the same job and in our capital city you can earn around 1000 Euros but you have to spend around 500 Euros on living expenses like rent, energy and other bills.

On the other hand, in the east we have beautiful nature which attracts a lot of tourists during the summer and winter.

Bratislava, our capital city, is in the west and does not have such natural treasures to see. Another reason why people from the east go to the west is because we have lack of jobs in the east. If you wish to work in an office, you have to go to Bratislava. In addition, there is strong competition between companies who prefer people with language skills and they prefer people with a high level of English in all 4 skills.

Slovakian people are very good workers, no matter what they have to do, when they know they will get paid well, they will work as many hours as their employer asks them. Here in England, according to my experience, it seems that people from Slovakia, Poland and Czech Republic are more attractive to companies than English people. Some British companies have even admitted this!

People in my country are not always very polite but here in England, I can say that nobody has ever been rude to me. London is very cosmopolitan but in my country people still think it is unusual to see people who are not white. Some people still cannot accept other races which I do not like because I have a lot of friends from different countries.

I have lived here for 8 years but soon I will have to leave as I miss my country.

bottom of page