top of page

Young People in Japan


In my country….

-All students had to wear the same color of shoes and socks when I was in junior high school. When we didn’t, we were scolded in another room next to principal's room, and sometimes we had to clean windows instead of going to afternoon activities.

-Most teachers would watch the seniors' behaviour carefully during junior high school when we had assembly, because teachers often thought that seniors wouldn’t follow the rules rather than the younger years. And I always felt resentful when I became a senior.

-Disciplined children sometimes commit a crime because they’re stressed.

-Both elderly people and younger people in Japan are sometimes prejudiced against people from other countries, but it does depend on the people.

-I had to be objective when I participated in a debate contest when I was in high school. In the final contest, we won second prize but all of the members in my team thought the audience were biased because the audience was from same town as the high school we were competing against!

-When you have a younger sister, your mom often treats the older ones unfairly during childhood. We had to say sorry first even if my younger sister had started the fight!

bottom of page