top of page

My Greek Holiday Experience :)


I would like to share my Greek holiday experience!

Five-ish years ago I was working very long hours for a design company so I needed to go on holiday and recharge my batteries, but I did not have any chance to take a holiday because I was working alone so I was only free at the weekend. For this reason, I chose Greece as it's easy to go there because it's Turkey's neighbour and I'm Turkish. So, three girls decided to go there for the weekend. I knew it would be difficult but I did not care because I really needed to get away from it all.


Greece is famous for its rich history and gods and philosophers and is considered the birth place of civilisation. The products of this richness are in every Greek city. Furthermore, you have a blue ocean, wonderful beaches, joyful music comes from taverns and delicious dishes especially those with natural olive oil and with welcoming people just like those I find in my hometown. Also, another reason I like it is that we have a similar culture.


Our tour included three cities. The first city was called Thessaloniki where our first president Ataturk was born! The scenery along the journey was really stunning. We passed through the lakes, mountains, the trees and small, quite pretty towns. Finally we arrived at Thessaloniki's Aristoteles Centre which is the biggest centre in Greece. There are so many coffee shops and restaurants. I think that centre and the views from the centre of the sea are breathtaking and picturesque. Then in the afternoon we went to our hotel. Our hotel was outside the centre and completely off the beaten track. It was not a posh hotel but the service was really efficient and the sea was wonderful. We chilled out after a long and busy day sightseeing. At night we went to a tavern and drank ouzo which is a famous Greek alcohol and after I remember we danced Sirtaki a lot 😊 .


So, if you want to experience arts (Roman & Ottoman), history and a cheerful holiday with stunning views and a wonderful sea, I can say absolutely that Greece is the best place to go!



bottom of page