top of page

A Special Month For Latvia! 😊🎉🎊

The 11th and 18th of November in Latvia

November is such a patriotic month in my country because the 18th of November is Proclamation Day for the Republic of Latvia and the 11th of November is Lāčplēsis Day. So, these festival days ended in Latvia about a week ago, and they are what I really missed about my country in November.

Now I am going to tell you more about these special days. I will start with Lāčplēsis Day because this day happens first. So, the 11th of November is a memorial day for soldiers who fought for the independence of Latvia. Every year on the 11th of November, Latvian people go on processions to monuments which were made in honour of soldiers who fought. Latvians mainly take torches but some people take candles which they then leave at the monuments. Sometimes an orchestra leads the procession but that depends on where it is. I like taking part in this event and I like feeling thankful to these soldiers who fought for Latvia. Usually during this week from 11th of November until 18th of November Latvians add mini Latvian flags in a ‘V’ shape on their outfits.

Now I will tell you about the 18th of November. So, as I said, the 18th of November is Proclamation Day for the Republic of Latvia. So, 99 years ago in 1918 on 18th of November Latvia became an independent country. I like this day because it is like a birthday for my country. Every year we have a military parade, the president gives a speech and there are fireworks at night but in every part of country people celebrate it in a lot of different ways. In my county we usually have a big event in the main city where in the first part the chairman of the county gives thankful awards to people who do their best for country and county, and in the second part we have a concert. After that we usually have fireworks.

So this is what the middle of November is like in Latvia. By the way I am looking forward to 100 years of Latvia. I will have to take a part in this anniversary! I hope it was interesting for you 😊

bottom of page