top of page

An Introduction to Humbert!


It’s quite difficult to introduce yourself when you have a lot of things to say but you don’t know how to say it correctly in another language that isn’t your mother tongue!! I think I can start by just saying.... Hi! My name is Humbert I’m 18 and I’m living in London at the moment. I’m from Spain, from Barcelona to be precise. I think that you’ll know some things about Barcelona as it’s a very well-known city.

I was studying until last year. Everything was alright concerning my studies, I really enjoyed what I was doing but little by little the situation started overwhelming me. Everyone started putting pressure on me about my future and it really made me feel concerned and anxious so I decided to take a gap year.

Suddenly in August an au pair opportunity came up. It was a great experience to take because my English would improve while I was having my gap year and I would have time to think about what I was going to do next year. Some people are so stubborn saying that being an au pair is the same as being a nanny and it really isn't!

I’ve been here (in London) since September and I'm going to stay until July, the first week I guess. In June I’ll go home for a few days because I need to get through some exams. I still don't know what to study at university but I’m trying to choose between psychology or human nutrition and dietetics.

Now we can talk about my life here, in London. As I said previously, I’m working as an au pair so I’m living with a host-family that consists of a women, her son and their dog. They’re very kind and friendly but sometimes it’s difficult being for away from home but I think that these situations makes you psychologically stronger.

I just have a few friends here and sometimes you really want to make new ones but it seems harder than you thought. I always have the weekends free so I enjoy London walking around the streets and getting to know new places, for example; Portobello Market, Camden Market, Brick lane Market, Barbican Market... well you can see that I really like going to places with people and where you can interact with English people.

What else can I say... Big Ben was a big disappointment, I really thought that it was bigger than what it really is and also now it’s being repaired so it’s not really as enjoyable. On the other hand we can find the Shard. I can’t say anything else other than Wow! The views from the top (72nd floor) are one of the most amazing things I’ve ever seen.

Nowadays I’m still discovering London every weekend so... what will be my next place to visit? You’ll see......!!!

bottom of page