top of page

My Trip to Amsterdam

I was in Amsterdam for three days, had a wonderful time there and was impressed with the seeing so many bikes throughout the city. The first day I arrived in the evening and saw some downtown squares and then had dinner in an Argentinean restaurant which was average. The next day in the morning I got to know the city centre better. You can find several shops, various types of restaurants, museums, theatres, and many people cycling on the street. there are a lot of bicycles parked around the city and many are already old and rusty because they have been abandoned and seeing this is a little disappointing because it generates negative points for the city because the space could have something more productive as it is a tourist town.

In the afternoon I took a canal boat trip and was impressed to learn from the tour guide that there are over 300 bridges in Amsterdam and all are numbered, and the tour was wonderful as we could see the sunset and the day was beautiful as the weather was super nice, 27 degrees. At dusk we could see the lights that light below the bridges and it is a romantic and beautiful setting to see. At nightfall we walked the main streets and one thing I did not like was the smell of cigarettes in the air, as if the city was polluted with smoke. Nothing against smokers but I did not enjoy seeing families with their children breathing polluted air. In some areas of the city the smell is quite strong. I was shocked to find the RLD = Red Light District and this area is a part of Amsterdam's tourist attractions, so it is a natural place to go and visit.

On the last day I could not fail to do the experience of cycling in Amsterdam. I rented a bike and cycled through the largest park for 3 hours and it was amazing. I did not have time to visit the tulip farm where there are various colours of tulips. For sure on my next visit I will dive in this sea of ​​tulips that must be extraordinary. I did not have time to also visit the Heineken experience, which is huge and seems to be very impressive. I did not go to any museums either, but surely I have good reasons to return and to know more places of this beautiful city full of loving and kind people.

bottom of page